

# **BOARD MEETING**

# Thursday, April 6, 2017 1100 Bank Street, Richmond Martha Brissette Conference Room (B-27) 3:00PM

SBE Board Working Papers



## STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS AGENDA

DATE: April 6, 2017 LOCATION: Washington Building Martha Brissette Conference Room Richmond, Virginia TIME: 3:00 p.m.

I. CALL TO ORDER

James B. Alcorn SBE Chair

II. NEW BUSINESS

A. Ballot Drawing – June 13, 2017

Paul Stenbjorn Director of Election Services

- III. OTHER BUSINESS & PUBLIC COMMENT
- IV. ADJOURNMENT



### Memorandum

To: Chairman Alcorn, Vice Chair Wheeler, and Secretary McAllister

From: Ellen Flory, Elections Project Manager

Date: April 6, 2017

Re: Ballot order for primary ballots

### Suggested motion for a Board member to make:

I move that the Board certify the determinations by lot of the ballot order for the party primaries held June 13, 2017.

### Applicable Code Section: Va. Code § 24.2-529 reads:

§ 24.2-529. Primary ballots.

The primary ballots for the several parties taking part in a primary shall be composed, arranged, printed, delivered, and provided in the same manner as the general election ballots except that at the top of each official primary ballot shall be printed in plain black type the name of the political party and the words "Primary Election." The names of the candidates for various offices shall appear on the ballot in an order determined by the priority of the time of filing for the office. In the event two or more candidates file simultaneously, the order of filing shall then be determined by lot by the electoral board or the State Board as in the case of a tie vote for the office. No write-in shall be permitted on ballots in primary elections.

### **Background:**

<b>Primary Ballot</b>	Office	Candidates
Democratic	House of Delegates District 2	Jennifer D. Carroll Foy
		Joshua L. King
Democratic	House of Delegates District 13	Mansimran Singh Kahlon
		Danica Roem
Democratic	House of Delegates District 31	Elizabeth R. Guzman
		Sara E. Townsend
<b>Primary Ballot</b>	Office	Candidates
Republican	House of Delegates District 54	Nick G. Ignacio
		Robert D. "Bobby" Orrock
Republican	House of Delegates District 64	Mansimran Singh Kahlon
		Danica Roem
Republican	Lieutenant Governor	Glenn R. Davis, Jr.
		Bryce E. Reeves
Republican	Governor	Edward W. "Ed" Gillespie
		Corey A. Stewart